Austria / Germany / UK / Japan, 2021, modern classical / chamber music / electroacoustic

SWR Experimentalstudio / Arditti Quartet / Sophie-Mayuko VetterEin Schattenspiel; String Quartets No. 4 & No. 7: My recent re-listen of Adriana Mater got me thinking more about spectralism, and that led me to Haas, with this being an excellent example of all the raw emotion possible in modern classical if you’re willing to redefine your expectations of the genre, let your soul burst, then heal, then bleed. Vetter’s piano is as hauntingly lovely as the string quartet is unsettling.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s