Keith Jarrett – 24 Preludes and Fugues Op. 87 (Dmitri Shostakovich)

USA / Russia, 1992, modern classical

I ran across this one in my somewhat erratic and haphazard search for lesser-known 20th-century composers, and I already knew Keith Jarrett through his ECM stuff (and I was well impressed with his handling of Tabula rasa). Most of Shostakovich’s works were composed between the 1930s and 1960s. Jarrett is crazy in his native element; here he is technical, true to the subject matter. This is a long one, so background might be nice.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s