Estonia / Germany / Russia / Ukraine, 1984, minimalism / modern classical

Staatsorchester Stuttgart / Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra / The 12 Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra / Dennis Russell Davies / Saulius Sondeckis/ Gidon Kremer / Keith Jarrett / Tatjana Grindenko / Alfred SchnittkeTabula Rasa (Arvo Pärt): The meditative violin throughout often sounds like it could be the foundation of someone’s post-rock band. Soothing choral interludes follow with a focus on powerful organ playing. The violin intensifies in its discordance near the end of the work, and then all at once the music slips into a dream to close it out.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s