Austria / Germany, 1975, romanticism / orchestral

Berliner Philharmoniker / Herbert von KarajanVerklärte Nacht (Schoenberg): This piece’s five sections mirror the five stanzas of the poem on which it is based. “Transfigured Night” is about a woman confessing to her lover of her infidelity and how the child of another man grows in her womb. This takes place in a forest setting on a moonlit night. The five short movements of this music are an early example of something called “program music”, an attempt to re-create a narrative through musical means.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s